Civil Service Commission

Regular Meetings

The Civil Service Commission meets on the 2nd Monday of each month at 5:15 p.m. during the Covid-19 pandemic at 1000 Laurel Street, Building B. Meeting time will revert back to 6:00 p.m. after in person, open meetings are allowed.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • Alan Sweat, Chair
    Term Expires: June 2023
  • Christine Treece, Vice Chair
    Term Expires: March 2025
  • Joseph Bawden
    Term Expires: March 2022
  • Jack Chandler
    Term Expires: July 2022
  • Efrain Lopez
    Term Expires: March 2024

Joining the Civil Service Commission

If you are interested in being on the Civil Service Commission, please complete a  Public Service Application and email our City Clerk or you can mail your application to the following address:

City of Milton, Attn: City Clerk
1000 Laurel Street
Milton, WA 98354

About the Commission

The Civil Service Commission consists of five members appointed by the Mayor as described in Milton Municipal Code 2.32. Terms are for six years with one member’s term expiring each year. The Civil Service Commission establishes the hiring and promotional listings of police personnel for the City. The Civil Service Secretary/Examiner is Rose Novak; she can be reached via email.

View the Civil Service Commission bylaws.