Mayor & Council


The City of Milton has a “strong mayor” form of government, in which the Mayor is directly elected by the people and serves as the executive of the administrative branch of government. The Mayor presides over the City Council meetings but does not have a policy vote except in specific cases of a tie-breaking vote


The Milton City Council consists of seven members elected at-large to four-year terms. They represent Milton citizens by establishing City policy, voting appropriations, developing the City’s vision and mission, and passing local ordinances, resolutions, and proclamations. They are also responsible for confirming the Mayor’s appointments to volunteer boards and commissions, and some select management staff members.